Check Point (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Add a Review
18 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
2/10
Another blueprint for "Why Action Films Are So Bad These Days"
homecoming825 April 2017
"Check Point" takes off with an action/fight scene that is so incredibly laughable and bad that most viewers turn of at once. So why watch the rest ? Well, it has a well known cast/stuntmen from past decades:

  • William Forsythe (Out For Justice, Stone Cold, The Rock, Devil's Rejects, Halloween 2007) - Bill Goldberg (WWE / Universal Soldier: The Return) - Tyler Mane (Michael Myers in Halloween 2007 en Halloween II 2009) - Fred Williamson (most memorable in From Dusk Till Dawn) - Kane Hodder (All round stuntman and played Jason four times, also starred in the Hatchet trilogy as Victor Crowley)


Sadly, all the characters are badly written, they have nothing to work with. The "based on true events" story is anything but interesting. The rest of the cast is wooden at best. Nothing really happens until the last 15 minutes but enduring more cheap and badly choreographed action is disappointing and heartbreaking. Is this what an action movie is these days ? Even as a drama or serious movie "Check Point" falls flat on it's face.

So sad, it's like watching another Steven Seagal turkey and remember: he had some awesome action films back in the day. But again, that seems to be ancient history, so sad.. Skip this turkey, regardless of these once great actors..
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The most wonderfully horrible movie ever made
James Dempsey12 August 2017
I don't know any other way to put it. This movie isn't just bad, it's shockingly bad. It's wonderful in it's horribleness.

The raw acting talent of the foliage on the set are matched only by Mindy Robinson's cleavage.

The special effects are so bad that it makes a low-budget SciFy channel movie look like the latest Roland Emmerich mega flick.

And the dialog, well, I think I can give it a pass based on the assumption that each scene was written by a different person just minutes after the previous scene was shot.

All of this could be forgiven were it not for the fact that the entire story is just disjointed, doesn't resolve anything, and didn't appear to be going anywhere anyway.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Wtf did I just watch
smicyus10 August 2017
This was by far the worst movie I have ever watched. I was bored and it was on Netflix. But dude!!!!! Just awful. Whoever rated this movie as 10's clearly are morons or they worked on the film and trying to boost the rating. The movie is just non stop stupid. If I could give it a negative number I would. It's just really bad. Not a single person in this movie should ever be in another movie and they should be ashamed for making this one. It's just so awful, makes no sense, and is a complete waste of time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Even I couldn't stomach this B movie
dpavluk-134136 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
First off, I love movies, all kinds of movies. Good, OK, Awesome, I like to watch action flicks. HOWEVER, this is way over the top. William Forsyth was good, but the rest of the cast was just blah. And by the time you reach the final scene of the movie, your head should start to spin.

SPOILER ALERT: So you are a renegade group of soldiers fighting off a group of Army soldiers - that were delivered by civilian helicopter, but anyway - you're being over run, and using an M72 LAW, you fire at, and shoot down, A FLAG POLE!...Really?! There are ways to make an artistic point in a movie. This one missed by a mile...smh.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Scenery was nice
homecookinggirl2 August 2017
This was a terrible movie. I was browsing Netflix for something to watch. Saw this was set in NC and thought it might be interesting. I usually like movies "inspired by actual events". I have no idea what actual events this was based on but it was so far fetched that it was laughable. I liked the familiar backgrounds - but that was all. The acting was terrible, the plot was lame, I still can't figure out why the random couple was killed... It was offensive to Asian women with the terrible stereotyping. I can't say enough about how bad this was. Music was OK?
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
I'm not a soldier. I'm a Marine.
Michael Ledo30 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Roy (Kenny Johnson) is a former marine who lives in the streets of Port City (Wilmington, NC) Carolina. We get a brief flashback of his former life and wife. Note, the opening scene is not part of that flashback, but a plot spoiler tease that comes later. His brother (Bill Goldberg) lives in town and wants to help him. There is a terrorist cell beheading people on TV, something Roy gets to watch because mobs of people still gather at the local store and watch TV through a window. Roy is able to identify the unmasked killer and one of the victims which he believes is in Port City. Everyone thinks he is crazy.

This is a PLOT SPOILER paragraph, although I spare many details. About an hour into the film we get a long winded patriotic anarchy, overthrow the government type of speech that even sounded crazy to crazy Roy. Decommissioned Battleships don't move. It would take years to be able to get it to move under its own power and even if it was armed, fueled and ready, it is ineffective in modern times outside of a few unique situations. I love Marines, but they are not trained to operate a boiler and steam plant.

The film had some top "B" stars including Kane Hodder, Fred Williamson, Tyler Mane, William Forsythe, and Mindy Robinson to name a few. It also had a great soundtrack with top 40 rock tunes. They spent some money. Unfortunately the script was horrible. It was totally unbelievable with wooden dialogue. They have some kind of Marine dedication for the film, which is nice, except the film really sucked.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity. Mindy Robinson and Krista "rack pack" Grotte- cleavage only.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
bad in many sectors
adhipur22 March 2017
yeah... many things that's wrong right there, this movie just like a comic with wrong stories :D look to rebecca costume, is she want to go to war or what? she and tj leave Roy's body and run to American flag, is it team mate doing when got sad because their friend just death? look for the army, came by choppers, they leave all of them without try to save any body who get hurts. and many more. overall.. this film just send the budget to a garbage :D
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Kenny Johnson is Awesome!
billharris-0254213 March 2017
OK, so the wife and I got this on demand and for an indie film I have to say, it was better than I expected! I'm a big Bate's Motel fan and Kenny Johnson really delivers! He carries the film really well and gives a very emotional performance. It suffers from a few plot holes, repeated scenes and some cheesy dialogue but overall, it delivers the goods. Happy with my purchase!
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The most stupid movie
esadluta16 June 2017
i never saw a movie as stupid as this one. It would look much better if this movie was a cartoon. i never saw a movie as stupid as this one. It would look much better if this movie was a cartoon. i never saw a movie as stupid as this one. It would look much better if this movie was a cartoon. i never saw a movie as stupid as this one. It would look much better if this movie was a cartoon.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews