IMDb > Check Point (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Check Point
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Check Point More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Check Point Review

2/10
Author: The Mad Reviewer
8 March 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After months and months of waiting the day finally came to watch Check Point. Written and Directed by B-Movie, more like C, Director and Actor Thomas J. Churchill, Check Point is base in the fictional town of Port City, North Carolina. The film stars B-Movie actors and actresses from all likes and they come together to "stop" a terrorist attack from happening on US soil.

Now, having watched this film I noticed many inconsistencies; 1) If the main character, Johnson, was best friends with Goldberg's character, why the hell is he living under a rock, literally, on the beach? 2)Why are there marines working at NSA headquarters? 3)How did one of those marines end up captured and beheaded? 4)Who gave Churchill the money to make this horrible movie? 5)How did the beheaded marine get his head back and end up at the end of the movie with Kane Hodder? There are so many problems with this movie that it was comical. I thought this may have been a parody type of movie where they were making fun of cheesy action flick, but nope I was wrong. They were dead serious about this film. This is the type of film I would expect 1st year film students to make or even high school AV Club. I do not expect this from seasoned filmmakers.

After watching this film I researched a few of Churchill's other flicks, man this dude loves to put himself in his own films. I can see now why Check Point is so bad, the director. Thomas Churchill's directing, acting and writing is as bad if not worse the legendary horrible filmmaker Tommy Wiseau.

Casting: The casting for this film is wrong in so many areas. You have type cast actresses like Mindy Robinson and Krista Grotte in it. All they have ever been in is films where they get to wear revealing clothing (I will get back to this) and low grade horror/comedies.

Clothing in this film is ridiculous. No woman ever would wear what Mindy Robinson wore in this film to fight off attackers. Stupid wardrobe choice. The Sheriff played by legendary William Forsythe, looks like he just came from knocking on doors to talk about Christ. Poor Michelle Lee had to do a horrible Asian accent for some reason that never gets explained. Kane Hodder is in the film for less than 3 minutes and dies.

Overall this film is bad. Just plain bad. Nothing special about it but if you like watching poorly edited, sub-par acting, adobe after effects added, non exciting movies than this film is for you. Otherwise, avoid at all possible costs. I am giving this film 2/10 stars because William Forsythe was good but other than that nothing.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Another blueprint for "Why Action Films Are So Bad These Days"

2/10
Author: homecoming8 from Belgium
25 April 2017

"Check Point" takes off with an action/fight scene that is so incredibly laughable and bad that most viewers turn of at once. So why watch the rest ? Well, it has a well known cast/stuntmen from past decades:

- William Forsythe (Out For Justice, Stone Cold, The Rock, Devil's Rejects, Halloween 2007) - Bill Goldberg (WWE / Universal Soldier: The Return) - Tyler Mane (Michael Myers in Halloween 2007 en Halloween II 2009) - Fred Williamson (most memorable in From Dusk Till Dawn) - Kane Hodder (All round stuntman and played Jason four times, also starred in the Hatchet trilogy as Victor Crowley)

Sadly, all the characters are badly written, they have nothing to work with. The "based on true events" story is anything but interesting. The rest of the cast is wooden at best. Nothing really happens until the last 15 minutes but enduring more cheap and badly choreographed action is disappointing and heartbreaking. Is this what an action movie is these days ? Even as a drama or serious movie "Check Point" falls flat on it's face.

So sad, it's like watching another Steven Seagal turkey and remember: he had some awesome action films back in the day. But again, that seems to be ancient history, so sad.. Skip this turkey, regardless of these once great actors..

Was the above review useful to you?

bad in many sectors

4/10
Author: adhipur
22 March 2017

yeah... many things that's wrong right there, this movie just like a comic with wrong stories :D look to rebecca costume, is she want to go to war or what? she and tj leave Roy's body and run to American flag, is it team mate doing when got sad because their friend just death? look for the army, came by choppers, they leave all of them without try to save any body who get hurts. and many more. overall.. this film just send the budget to a garbage :D

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

well the budget again clearly went to..

1/10
Author: james rogers from salt lake city
16 March 2017

nice try but rounding up a bunch of nobody character actors and typecasts and blowing your budget on them is not a movie!!!! this truly is the worst excuse of a movie and do not delete this as you have done you made this dog turd and now must deal with it if you want people to stroke you and tell you that your awesome be a better director haha

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Kenny Johnson is Awesome!

8/10
Author: billharris-02542 from North Carolina
13 March 2017

OK, so the wife and I got this on demand and for an indie film I have to say, it was better than I expected! I'm a big Bate's Motel fan and Kenny Johnson really delivers! He carries the film really well and gives a very emotional performance. It suffers from a few plot holes, repeated scenes and some cheesy dialogue but overall, it delivers the goods. Happy with my purchase!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

GOLDBERG rocks!

10/10
Author: herreramike-93514
13 March 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Not a big Wrestler fan but, I LOVE GOLDBERG in this movie! The action was great, the story was well written. The film was well directed. My girl loves the Bates Motel and I picked this up in Bestbuy because i noticed the dude from Bates Motel was in it. To my surprise this movie Rocked! The females in this movie are pretty sexy looking from the lead to the bad ass blonde villain. They actually have a bunch of cool fight scenes in the film. Some weird random scenes stuck in i guess for time. including the cheesy tag line-Run, Hide or Fight sounds like a child came up with that. We did laugh at the ugly dead guy with playing cards on him you can see he was breathing. But, overall this film rocked! Loved it and recommending it to people.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

It was a great movie and I recommend it for anybody that loves action movies

10/10
Author: Fred Gaviglia from United States
14 March 2017

OK so recently I watch this movie checkpoint and I have to say for an independent filmmaker Tommy Churchhill the cast that was put together to make this movie excellent the directing was excellent the action in the movie the storyline was most excellent I think this is one of the best action movies I've seen so far this year I cannot wait to see what he does in his for his next movie if I'd have to give this moving a rating on a scale from 1 to 10 it be a 10 star rating congratulations Mr. Churchhill on an excellent action-packed movie .

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Military MUST SEE!!!

10/10
Author: shocktroop
13 March 2017

What a movie! It hit on the 4 essentials of a Great action pact thriller.. 1.Hot girls 2.Blood and gore 3.Fire and explosions 4.Guns and veterans ....what could be more American???? Total MUST SEE! Also the cast was perfect and any Veteran who was stationed in NC will be able to relate to it. And lastly hats off to the director. I've been following his work for a very long time and I must say its amazing watching his material get wilder and wilder! Keep up the hard work!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Thomas J. Churchill makes a Great Action Flick look like a Million Bucks

10/10
Author: (shagee7977)
13 March 2017

I was in the local Walmart looking for something to watch this weekend. I am a fan of action flicks. When I saw the lineup for this entry in the genre I said hey let me check this out. I watch big Hollywood movies with big stars and always get disappointed. With a cast including Mindy Robinson, Kenny Johnson, Bill Goldberg, Tyler Mane, William Forsythe, Kane Hodder, Michelle Lee, Fred Williamson, Stephen Geoforeys and of course Thomas J. Churchill. Perfectly executed action fight scenes a strong story make this enjoyable. Even the opening credits with a memorable track and sweeping drone shots is breathtaking. The sound is solid and the cinematography rivals that of a million dollar Hollywood flick. Kenny Johnson who I love in Bates Motel and Saving Grace really shines and convincing in his role. Tightly edited fight sequences really takes this flick above the rest. Steven Segal look out. We have a new entry in the action flicks here. This is the Expendables on a quarter of the budget and more rewarding. There are so many legends packed into 90 minutes this is worth repeat viewings to enjoy. I got the blu ray and watched and shared with friends. Thomas J. Churchill has been around for awhile and really knows what the fans want. Get some popcorn and beer and a few friends and pop this in and have a great time.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Indie Filmmaking at its best.

10/10
Author: indiefilmbuff-50668 from Milford, PA
13 March 2017

I will not spoil anything for you all to watch. I have followed the career of this brilliant filmmaker from his early days of shooting VHS movies in the streets of Glendale, Queens. I have to say, Bravo- Thomas Churchill. This film is amazing on entire different level. Now, i read some of the latest reviews that was recently posted as it seemed like bitter, jealous, nasty haters. This is an indie film that looks, sounds and the acting was fantastic!! You can not compare Check Point to a $200 million dollar Marvel film. Those posts aren't valid in my book. It was funny to read that Churchill was in this film, he wasn't! As an actor he's very good. Not yet to Academy standards. BUT, as a filmmaker-He IS BRILLIANT! Look up Lazarus:Apocalypse, The Emerging Past and watch a serious filmmaker growing in his skin. I have watched his career grow and what he has put together here, a timely story about "what if" that can occur, genius. The cast in this film was pretty convincing. From the wrestler Bill Goldberg to the female assassin- Krista Grotte. I was pleased with the acting in fact I had to look up some of the rest of the cast to see who they were. The priest in the film is played by Mel Novak. This guy has been around since the days of Bruce Lee-I wanted to see more of his character. William Forsythe was pretty believable as always. I think this is my new favorite role of his along side of Dick Tracy and Boardwalk Empire. Fred The Hammer Williamson looked amazing, too. I wasn't a fan of the main lead, Kenny Johnson I think he is a TV actor and shouldn't carry a film, my opinion. I would of liked to have seen more of Novak and the guy who played Cyris-Kane Hodder. Although the film had a lot going on in it, you would agree that it was beautiful crafted by this up and coming filmmaker. Again, bravo on Check Point I would recommend it to everyone.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history