IMDb > Check Point (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Check Point
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Check Point More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 17 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Another blueprint for "Why Action Films Are So Bad These Days"

2/10
Author: homecoming8 from Belgium
25 April 2017

"Check Point" takes off with an action/fight scene that is so incredibly laughable and bad that most viewers turn of at once. So why watch the rest ? Well, it has a well known cast/stuntmen from past decades:

- William Forsythe (Out For Justice, Stone Cold, The Rock, Devil's Rejects, Halloween 2007) - Bill Goldberg (WWE / Universal Soldier: The Return) - Tyler Mane (Michael Myers in Halloween 2007 en Halloween II 2009) - Fred Williamson (most memorable in From Dusk Till Dawn) - Kane Hodder (All round stuntman and played Jason four times, also starred in the Hatchet trilogy as Victor Crowley)

Sadly, all the characters are badly written, they have nothing to work with. The "based on true events" story is anything but interesting. The rest of the cast is wooden at best. Nothing really happens until the last 15 minutes but enduring more cheap and badly choreographed action is disappointing and heartbreaking. Is this what an action movie is these days ? Even as a drama or serious movie "Check Point" falls flat on it's face.

So sad, it's like watching another Steven Seagal turkey and remember: he had some awesome action films back in the day. But again, that seems to be ancient history, so sad.. Skip this turkey, regardless of these once great actors..

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The most wonderfully horrible movie ever made

1/10
Author: James Dempsey
12 August 2017

I don't know any other way to put it. This movie isn't just bad, it's shockingly bad. It's wonderful in it's horribleness.

The raw acting talent of the foliage on the set are matched only by Mindy Robinson's cleavage.

The special effects are so bad that it makes a low-budget SciFy channel movie look like the latest Roland Emmerich mega flick.

And the dialog, well, I think I can give it a pass based on the assumption that each scene was written by a different person just minutes after the previous scene was shot.

All of this could be forgiven were it not for the fact that the entire story is just disjointed, doesn't resolve anything, and didn't appear to be going anywhere anyway.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Wtf did I just watch

1/10
Author: smicyus
10 August 2017

This was by far the worst movie I have ever watched. I was bored and it was on Netflix. But dude!!!!! Just awful. Whoever rated this movie as 10's clearly are morons or they worked on the film and trying to boost the rating. The movie is just non stop stupid. If I could give it a negative number I would. It's just really bad. Not a single person in this movie should ever be in another movie and they should be ashamed for making this one. It's just so awful, makes no sense, and is a complete waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

well the budget again clearly went to..

1/10
Author: james rogers from salt lake city
16 March 2017

nice try but rounding up a bunch of nobody character actors and typecasts and blowing your budget on them is not a movie!!!! this truly is the worst excuse of a movie and do not delete this as you have done you made this dog turd and now must deal with it if you want people to stroke you and tell you that your awesome be a better director haha

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Even I couldn't stomach this B movie

2/10
Author: dpavluk-13413 from United States
6 August 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First off, I love movies, all kinds of movies. Good, OK, Awesome, I like to watch action flicks. HOWEVER, this is way over the top. William Forsyth was good, but the rest of the cast was just blah. And by the time you reach the final scene of the movie, your head should start to spin.

SPOILER ALERT: So you are a renegade group of soldiers fighting off a group of Army soldiers - that were delivered by civilian helicopter, but anyway - you're being over run, and using an M72 LAW, you fire at, and shoot down, A FLAG POLE!...Really?! There are ways to make an artistic point in a movie. This one missed by a mile...smh.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Scenery was nice

1/10
Author: homecookinggirl from North Carolina
2 August 2017

This was a terrible movie. I was browsing Netflix for something to watch. Saw this was set in NC and thought it might be interesting. I usually like movies "inspired by actual events". I have no idea what actual events this was based on but it was so far fetched that it was laughable. I liked the familiar backgrounds - but that was all. The acting was terrible, the plot was lame, I still can't figure out why the random couple was killed... It was offensive to Asian women with the terrible stereotyping. I can't say enough about how bad this was. Music was OK?

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I'm not a soldier. I'm a Marine.

4/10
Author: Michael Ledo from United States
30 July 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Roy (Kenny Johnson) is a former marine who lives in the streets of Port City (Wilmington, NC) Carolina. We get a brief flashback of his former life and wife. Note, the opening scene is not part of that flashback, but a plot spoiler tease that comes later. His brother (Bill Goldberg) lives in town and wants to help him. There is a terrorist cell beheading people on TV, something Roy gets to watch because mobs of people still gather at the local store and watch TV through a window. Roy is able to identify the unmasked killer and one of the victims which he believes is in Port City. Everyone thinks he is crazy.

This is a PLOT SPOILER paragraph, although I spare many details. About an hour into the film we get a long winded patriotic anarchy, overthrow the government type of speech that even sounded crazy to crazy Roy. Decommissioned Battleships don't move. It would take years to be able to get it to move under its own power and even if it was armed, fueled and ready, it is ineffective in modern times outside of a few unique situations. I love Marines, but they are not trained to operate a boiler and steam plant.

The film had some top "B" stars including Kane Hodder, Fred Williamson, Tyler Mane, William Forsythe, and Mindy Robinson to name a few. It also had a great soundtrack with top 40 rock tunes. They spent some money. Unfortunately the script was horrible. It was totally unbelievable with wooden dialogue. They have some kind of Marine dedication for the film, which is nice, except the film really sucked.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity. Mindy Robinson and Krista "rack pack" Grotte- cleavage only.

Was the above review useful to you?

Review of Check Point

2/10
Author: The Mad Reviewer
14 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After months and months of waiting the day finally came to watch Check Point. Written and Directed by B-Movie, Director and Actor Thomas J. Churchill, Check Point is based in the fictional town of Port City, North Carolina. The film stars B-Movie actors and actresses from all likes and they come together to "stop" a terrorist attack from happening on US soil. The summary of the film is that a former Marine, who is down on his luck, oversees some be-headings of local towns people in a local workshop, when he informs the town Sheriff, played by the always great William Forsythe, he is mocked and not believed. He tells his "best friend", played by Bill Goldberg, but he dismisses his claims because Johnson is known to have mental health problems.

The story and relationship between those two characters doesn't make sense at all and I will dive into that further on in the review. It isn't until another local, a teacher, played by Mindy Robinson, finds herself in the back of the local restaurant, where she sees the trough that the be-headings took place and begins to see that something is off. At that point, she is confronted by the woman who owns the shop, played by Michelle Lee, and a fight ensues.

There are twists and turns but overall the film needs a lot of work. Now, having watched this film I noticed many inconsistencies;

1) If the main character, Johnson, was best friends with Goldberg's character, why the hell is he living under a rock, literally, on the beach?

2) Why are there marines working at NSA headquarters?

3) How did one of those marines end up captured and beheaded?

4) Who gave Churchill the money to make this horrible movie? 5) How did the beheaded marine get his head back and end up at the end of the movie with Kane Hodder?

There are so many problems with this movie that it was comical. I thought this may have been a parody type of movie where they were making fun of cheesy action flick, but nope I was wrong. They were dead serious about this film. This is the type of film I would expect 1st year film students to make or even high school AV Club. I do not expect this from seasoned filmmakers. After watching this film I researched a few of Churchill's other flicks, man this dude loves to put himself in his own films. I can see now why Check Point is so bad, the director. Thomas Churchill's directing, acting and writing is as bad if not worse the legendary horrible filmmaker Tommy Wiseau. Casting: The casting for this film is wrong in so many areas. You have type cast actresses like Mindy Robinson and Krista Grotte in it. All they have ever been in is films where they get to wear revealing clothing (I will get back to this) and low-grade horror/comedies. The film also stars legendary actor Kane Hodder, notably known for his portrayal as Jason Voorhees in several Friday the 13th films. His role is limited and I will let you watch to see why. Wardrobe: The wardrobe in the film is comical and impractical, no woman, let alone soldier, ever would wear what Mindy Robinson wore in this film to fight off attackers. Stupid wardrobe choice. The Sheriff looks like he just came from knocking on doors to talk about Christ. Poor Michelle Lee had to do a horrible Asian accent for some reason that never gets explained. Overall this film is bad. Just plain bad. Nothing special about it but if you like watching poorly edited, sub-par acting, adobe after effects added, non-exciting movies than this film is for you. Otherwise, avoid at all possible costs. I am giving this film 2/10 stars because William Forsythe was good but other than that nothing.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ruined by Slow Pace, Low Budget and Ridiculous Action Scenes

3/10
Author: Uriah43 from Amarillo, Texas
19 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Having just returned from a traumatic combat tour "Roy" (Kenny Johnson) is informed that his wife and young child were killed in their house during a violent thunderstorm which sends him over the edge and results in his being homeless as well. To make matters worse, a terrorist organization is operating in the same small town he lives in and they prey on current and former servicemen who either join their cause or a beheaded for all the world to see. At first none of this affects Roy or his vagrant companion "Grant" (Stephen Geoffreys) because they are primarily concerned about finding food and shelter above all else. But all of that is soon to change as Roy discovers that the world will simply not leave him in peace. Now rather than reveal any more I will just say that this film had some potential but the slow pace, low budget and rather ridiculous action sequences were too much to be ignored. That said, I have rated this movie accordingly. Below average.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

bad in many sectors

4/10
Author: adhipur
22 March 2017

yeah... many things that's wrong right there, this movie just like a comic with wrong stories :D look to rebecca costume, is she want to go to war or what? she and tj leave Roy's body and run to American flag, is it team mate doing when got sad because their friend just death? look for the army, came by choppers, they leave all of them without try to save any body who get hurts. and many more. overall.. this film just send the budget to a garbage :D

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history