IMDb > Knock Knock (2015/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Knock Knock
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Knock Knock More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 46:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 455 reviews in total 

193 out of 305 people found the following review useful:

A morbid psychosexual thriller that flirts with both silliness and cinematic greatness.

7/10
Author: Andrew Gold from United States
24 October 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After skimming through some of these reviews, I'm not sure what people were expecting from Knock Knock. It plays out like a cross between No Good Deed and The Loved Ones. The story isn't original of course but this is Eli Roth's take on a home invasion thriller and it's refreshingly sadistic. Two strangers knock on Keanu Reeves' door, he invites them in, their sociopathic tendencies start to peek through, and things escalate from there. The acting is largely impressive. Keanu comes across as silly at times but, for the most part, he fits the part of the innocent dad and he bounces off the chemistry of the two female leads very well.

Lorenza Izzo and Ana de Armas really make this movie what it is. They have palpable charisma, and they provide Reeves excellent scenarios to react to. The dialogue could sound outlandish and childish if read in a different context, but Izzo and de Armas pull it all off with a straight face and their character's intentions progress to the downright sinister. It's actually interesting subject matter, and Roth does have something to say with this film, and I believe he accomplishes it elegantly with as little blood as possible.

Knock Knock is not perfect - it goes on for a few minutes too long and sometimes Reeves reads lines as if he'd just shot up heroin, but it's intriguing and truly captivating once it gets going and becomes a psychological horror house in its finest moments. Callously covering up a dead body with papier-mâché? That's chilling. Being buried alive? Macabre. It's nice to see Roth hasn't lost his touch, and the humor is definitely there intentional or not. I highly recommend this movie to fans of home invasion thrillers. Just don't go in expecting a polished masterpiece; Knock Knock is depraved, raw and filthy in the best ways possible.

Was the above review useful to you?

324 out of 574 people found the following review useful:

Knock knock most ridiculous movie of 2015

1/10
Author: Kumar Naidu from United Kingdom
6 July 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Such a pathetic movie. Watched the movie 'knock knock' because of Keanu Reeves and am so disappointed with the story line and there is nothing thrilling about the movie. What really irritated was Keanu Reeves was like a helpless moron who just couldn't do anything against two teenage girls who go to his home and take him for a ride throughout the movie. Keanu had chances to kick back but instead gets hit by a fork by a teenage girl and gets tied up and that's so ridiculous and finally when you expect some twist you will find that both the girls will bury the so called matrix hero called Keanu Reeves in his own backyard unto his neck and there ends the movie all of sudden...such a waste of money and two hours of precious time.

Was the above review useful to you?

109 out of 173 people found the following review useful:

I want a revenge sequel

7/10
Author: ILYA KUTUZOV
20 October 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I loved Eli Roth immediately after Hostel 1. I knew this man can deal with human nature. I follow his work since then. This feature shows a man taken at his soft spot when he was not expecting any trouble. Sometimes people give in to temptations of much lesser magnitude. He made a wrong decision, he got what was coming. But the ending! Imagine he is an idiot and cannot explain his wife that he was attacked and framed. Imagine his wife is an idiot, did not believe him, took the kids and divorced him. That would be the suggested ending, won't it. What seems to be a moral story leaves an unfinished business. I want to see the architect taking cold revenge. Track down the ladies, think a little, and turn their lives into a living hell. They'd played their game and had had their fun on account of the architect and other people; now they have it coming. Give us the revenge sequel!

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 187 people found the following review useful:

Oh my freaking God this is so terrible

1/10
Author: parkway-31497 from United States
20 December 2015

I'm a rare poster here at IMDb. Good movies? They get enough praise without me joining in the chorus. Average films? There's usually enough people on each side to adequately debate the pros and cons. But a film this ridiculously bad has, if nothing else, crossed whichever threshold is required to motivate me to reset my long forgotten IMDb login details and hopefully save some poor souls the 90 odd minutes of their lives, and (god forbid) their hard earned on a ticket.

It's so hard to know where to begin, so, as a wiser person than me once suggested, I will begin at the beginning. The acting, from the get go, is so wooden, unbelievable and shallow that not only did I not feel any connection to the characters, they were actually making me angry! Keanu is has always been pretty one dimensional, but he takes it to a new level with his performance here. In this role as a supposedly doting father, it felt like he has never spent more than five minutes around any kid. The wife was equally unconvincing and the kids were so bad they wouldn't get a role on a home-brand cola commercial. I did however quite like the Boston Terrier playing the role of the family pet, 'Monkey', and I feel like he did his best to carry this stinker, but with limited screen time there was only so much he could do.

Enter the 2 mysterious young women...who continue what has become the well established, by now 20 minute old tradition of corny, unconvincing Knock Knock performances.

The direction is lousy. I'm no film buff, but I watch enough of them. When I saw Eli Roth was the director in the opening credits, I said to my wife 'I think he has done some cool stuff'. Half way through this stinker I looked him up, and realised that, no...no he hasn't done anything even remotely decent in his entire career. A bit of shock horror in Hostel, a tenuous claim to fame at best, and then nothing. And his lack of talent is glaringly obvious here. I think I had confused him with a hybrid of Tim Roth and possibly Elijah Wood? I dunno...but Eli Roth shall forever more be the huge red flag he rightly is.

The story...let's call it a "story" for the sake of this review anyway. There's so much that could be said, so I'll simply say that it sucked in ways that few things have ever sucked before. It pioneers new ways to suck that modern scientific research in sucking are yet to even discover.

And the final cherry on this s#!t cake, was, after breaking my spirit and will to live, to break my heart to. Using the Pixies classic Where is My Mind as the closing track. Which the Pixies must have authorise...which defies comprehension. They made great money off their last tours, and allowed it to be used to close that all time classic Fight Club.

And so ends my review of this diabolically bad film. If I save one person the price of a ticket, or an hour an a half of their precious existence, it'll have all been worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

283 out of 536 people found the following review useful:

Words haven't been invented to describe this film

1/10
Author: Ben McMaster from Belfast
27 June 2015

After spending a Saturday night watching a film I've been looking forward to see since I first saw the trailer, honestly I feel robbed of an hour and a half I'll never get back. This movie was nothing but a let down. To call this film a horror is like calling Spongebob Squarepants and Thomas the tank engine both horror programs.

You cannot tell the difference between normal Keanu Reeves and tied up petrified Keanu Reeves, it all sounded the same. Whenever he shouted it reminded me of the best cry ever/worst cry ever video in YouTube.

Overall this movie was a huge let down, very good idea for a film but a horrific execution. Save yourself a tenner and buy yourself a Chinese instead of a ticket!

Was the above review useful to you?

290 out of 554 people found the following review useful:

Very disappointing movie

1/10
Author: lmaguire-08665 from United Kingdom
30 June 2015

This is the first review of a movie I've ever written and I wouldn't usually do this, but felt the need to advise people to steer clear of this movie. It was truly one of the worst movies that I've ever seen in my life. I had high hopes for the movie before seeing it, especially since I'm a fan of Keanu Reeves in many of his other movies. However I found the movie to be utterly bizarre and ridiculous and struggled to sit through the whole movie and resist the urge to leave. The acting was really over the top at times and so painful to watch. The plot did have potential and could have been so much better but unfortunately it did not work at all in this movie. Many of the scenes are extremely creepy and perverted, and not what I would expect to see in any movie. I found parts of this movie very difficult to understand and follow, so that I eventually lost interest completely. The ending was one of the biggest disappointments and left me with feelings of relief that it was finally over and feeling like I'd just wasted the last 90 minutes of my life. Avoid this movie at all costs!!

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

Poor Neo...

5/10
Author: Dr_Sagan from the Edge of the Cosmos
23 December 2015

There are already ...261 (!) reviews for this B (or maybe C?) movie that came out only 2 months ago and that means something, i think.

First of all this is a remake of the movie "Death Game (1977)" starring Sondra Locke and Colleen Camp. The 2 women are serving as producers in the 2015 version while Colleen Camp also stars in a minor role.

This is Camp-y movie (pun intended!) with a lot of torture horror and a couple (mild in my opinion) erotic scenes. The 2 main actresses Lorenza Izzo and Ana de Armas look crazy enough but Keanu Reeves's performance leave a lot to be desired. Maybe we have used to see him as a hero (from the Matrix to John Wick) and we cannot accept to watch him being lame and weak.

There is obviously a moral here, but the question "who could resist" is also strongly present.

As a movie it's OK and you might have some fun watching it, but if you can't stand movies where the "hero" does all the wrong moves maybe you should avoid it. The direction of photography is bright and that's a plus, but if you are a careful viewer you will find a lot of goofs including numerous continuity errors which could ruin some of the fun.

In the end you might want for the movie to last a couple of minutes more to see the outcome or even the true motives of what just happened...

Overall: Not as bad as most of the other 261 reviews might want you to believe. (Some of them compare Keanu Reeves's recent choices to those of Nicolas Cage, so they might be driven by some hate). See it if you want a light campy thriller for the evening.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

Further Proof That Eli Roth is Terrible

1/10
Author: TheBarleyGuy from Canada
18 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Holy sh*t do I hate Eli Roth movies. Ever since Hostel and Cabin Fever I've found his films to border on the unwatchable, and yet I watched this one (and fully plan to watch Green Inferno), knowing that I wasn't likely to enjoy them. Maybe I'm a glutton for punishment, or maybe I just like spreading the Eli Roth is not very good gospel to anyone who will listen. So, what about this one?

It's not good, at all.

We start the movie having Keanu Reeve's being a "family man" shoved into our faces for an unbearably long time as we take a tour of his house, which is plastered with photos of the family, evidence of children and family is practically wallpaper in this house, and then we see Keanu and his wife have an attempt to have sex interrupted by this extremely loving children who have prepared a cake for father's day, and they all spend a solid 15 minutes of the movie talking about FATHER'S DAY, and LOVING DADDY, AND HOORAY FOR DAD ETC ETC, until you feel like you just might throw up. They also introduce us to the family dog (who somehow makes it to the end) and to a VERY IMPORTANT WORK OF ART THAT IS VERY IMPORTANT (which is smashed with hammers, obviously). So, with that extremely subtle set up, Keanu is left home alone when his family goes on a trip without him (for some reason), and the movie actually starts.

This has to be one of Roth's more gutless films, we've grown accustomed to his brutal gore and violence, but this one is surprisingly void of that. Instead, we have one death that is minor and Keanu even makes it all the way to the end, and the girls get no comeuppance either. After having a weird Keanu Reeves threesome, the girls reveal that they are 15 years old and Keanu is now a pedophile, which seems like it might be the bold line that this movie takes, sort of a Hard Candy type story, but even that turns out to be untrue when (spoiler alert) the girls admit to being in their 20s.

The acting is awful, the story is garbage, and it's really hard to get yourself invested in the movie at any point. Even when you think the girls are as young as they claim to be, you find yourself wondering how the hell they were able to subdue a full grown Keanu Reeves more than three f**king times in the movie. In the end, because who cares, they post a video of one of the girls having sex with Keanu (while he is tied to a bed and protesting), as proof that Keanu is a horrible monster, on Facebook (because…Facebook), and of course people start responding in horror and disgust. The girls leave him buried up to his neck in the back yard and run along scott free, while Keanu frees a hand (somehow) and accidentally likes the sex video instead of deleting it. Is… is that a joke Eli Roth? Because it's not funny.

Hands down, this is one of the most offensively bad movies that I've seen in a long time, and you're much better off to skip it. Check out John Wick instead, that movie is f**king awesome. Look forward to seeing your next one Roth, I'm sure it'll be a masterpiece.

www.barleydoeshorror.com

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

heartbreaking

1/10
Author: Kristoffer Den Carabio Sexon
2 February 2016

i don't know if the movie is meant to teach us a lesson about being a straight A father and not to f^ck total strangers no matter how pretty they are or if the movie is just straight A piece of crap. i am so sorry, there was just tons of loose ends, it was KINDA interesting, just enough for you to not push the stop button while watching but really, this is just HEARTBREAKING. i was expecting a lot since we have keanu in the movie and the girls were just damn fine but i still feel that i just wasted my time on this. the movie ended with an UNSATISFYING feeling. it's just empty, everything does not make sense at all. i should have just fapped myself to sleep.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

Underlying Meaning???

1/10
Author: Zachary Schwarz
13 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I first watched this film by renting it from a Redbox. The rental is only $1.50 and honestly the amount is so little I usually do not care if I rent a bad movie but, I really feel like I actually wasted my money on this film. At first this film seemed good from the trailers, it seemed like a good twist on a thriller and it really piqued my interest. So when I saw it on Redbox I was excited because I haven't seen a good thriller in a long time. So when I got home and popped it in my player after the first ten minutes I knew this film was going to go downhill and had no end in sight. Keanu Reeves usually plays as a strong, smart, and capable character in his movies; not a wimpy, stupid, and really a down right moron. This fact alone disappoints me because I am a Reeve fan and a little part of that admiration just went away. The film started well, with him sidestepping their advances and being seeing the girls as young and stupid, but in the bathroom scene apparently all of that goes out the window just because they're naked. Wow. As the film progresses it seems to become a slight against men, by portraying them to be these idiotic, misogynistic, and sex on the brain oafs that will do anything as long as there is a piece of "meat" hanging in front of them. This becomes overly clear when the character, "Genesis" has the line, "You all are the same" and "They never say no." I understand that this is a film but to create something so bigoted and dogmatic and think that it is acceptable; it really begins to bring to light the morals and philosophies of the writers and producers. I know that this will probably make some folks mad or angry but flip the situation around. If it had been a woman on the bed getting raped by a man, I'd put money on the fact that this movie wouldn't have made it beyond the notepad of the first writer. We as a society tend to have double standards that usually benefit one party or another, and I completely understand why this happens and why it is bad. But to campaign against this problem and to become a more accepting society, movies like this are not helping whatsoever. I am not trying to suggest censoring literature and media, but to have a film that is so one-sided is very detrimental to furthering our society to become rational and fair. Overall, I was extremely disappointed with this film. It will only make the viewer angry and frustrated. I feel this film will only please one particular group of people, the more radical feminist groups. More liberal feminists will probably be angered by the movie because it really puts a bad name on the movement, by making it seem that this is what feminism hopes to prove. The intention of my review is not one of contention and hostility but to give my opinion and hopefully shine some light on the reasoning behind it. I just ask that before you go and fire away a comment or a reply to this review, to try and see it from a different my perspective, a 22 year old man that is still trying to understand how the world works. Thank you. P.S. I use the word "feminism" and "feminist," not as a derogatory remark or slight, but just as a descriptor of a noble movement or person.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 46:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history