IMDb > Keeping Up with the Joneses (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Keeping Up with the Joneses
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Keeping Up with the Joneses More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 75 reviews in total 

35 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Autistic Reviewers Opinion Of This Movie.

5/10
Author: autisticreviewers from Australia
23 October 2016

"A suburban couple becomes embroiled in an international espionage plot when they discover that their seemingly perfect new neighbors are government spies. " The comedy of "Keeping Up with the Joneses" comes from exaggeration. Mottola and screenwriter Michael LeSieur play up a suburban oasis for Jeff and Karen, with the pair living an idyllic life in a beautiful home. She's an interior designer, he's a practiced corporate negotiator, and while their marriage is stable, it's become flavorless. You've seen these characters before, and the production does little to disturb expectations, highlighting sexual dysfunction in the household, with newfound summertime freedom inspiring thoughts of savage coupling, only to have the pair maintain distance out of habit. There's no twist, no larger message of love. Jeff and Karen are set up as cheerful nothings easily overwhelmed by the arrival of Tim and Natalie, who stun their neighbors with flawless style, beauty, and sophistication. They're incredible, bewitching the community with tales of international travel and the display of impressive dart-throwing skills.

Gal Gadot is always good at playing at the sexy lady and Jon Hamm was good at playing his manipulating and sly character. There's hardly any jokes that work in the movie, and if it wasn't for Isla Fisher and Zach Galifianakis's improvisational Comedy it would've flopped big time! The movie had one of the biggest disappointing showdowns we've ever seen. All in all, it's not a disastrous movie, but your best bet is to rent it on Netflix. 5/10. 2/5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Not hard to keep up with, it's a very OK.

6/10
Author: subxerogravity from United States
21 October 2016

It's a pretty good comedy.

The average Suburban family gets a new neighbors, who are more than what they seem. Nothing out of the ordinary.

Zach Galifianakis and Isla Fisher made a cute couple in the movie. very good comedy duo in an mediocre film.

Jon Hamm is a fantastic straight man for the comedy that Galifianakis was dishing out.

Gal Gadot is impressive. She's the one who has to keep up with the other three and she does a good job. i don't think I've seen her do anything outside the Fast and Furious movies so it was nice to see that she can do something else.

I know i'm sitting here writing about the film, but for the most part there is really is not anything to write about. It gives you enough laughs so I feel like I did not waste my cash, but it's definitely not a movie you'll remember down the road. Nothing spectacular.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

Another silly spy spoof saved by solid acting performances

8/10
Author: Ayal Oren from Israel
20 October 2016

I've got a thing for spy comedies, I've seen most of the recent ones and many of the older ones. It's a genre so based on plot twists that most of them can be seen a mile away, especially if you've already seen some. This one is no different. No real plot twist is really surprising, including the final joke. And still, I had loads of fun watching it, because most of the jokes are actually character driven, and the characters are very well written, and well performed by most. That is, Isla Fisher, Zach Galifianakis and Jon Hamm, are practically super. Gal Gadot got the warrior woman with the menacing looks nailed to the teeth, but is a bit less convincing when she has to be sensitive or subtle. It doesn't happen often during the movie, so it's not a big issue, but there are a few moments in which she's off character. But everybody else around does such a good job, the jokes work, and the pace is fast enough for us not to care it's not so very surprising.

I liked it, most of the people around me in the cinema liked it too. If you don't expect a masterpiece, just plain simple fun - you'll find it here.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Mr and Mrs Jones

6/10
Author: David Ferguson (fergusontx@gmail.com) from Dallas, Texas
20 October 2016

Greetings again from the darkness. Dozens of movies through the years make up the Spy Action-Comedy segment. Most of these lean heavily on either action (Mr. and Mrs. Smith, Red, Knight and Day) or comedy (Austin Powers, Get Smart, Date Night). The latest entry from director Greg Mottola and writer Michael LeSieur offers a more balanced approach while being somewhat grounded in familiar suburbia. Perfect casting certainly helps.

Comedies are the toughest genre to review because the only thing that matters … does it cause you to laugh? … depends on the sense of humor of each viewer and even their frame of mind while watching. So what I can report is that the full theatre at my screening was filled with enthusiastic laughter multiple times, along with a pretty steady stream of chuckles and giggling. This will undoubtedly vary from the accounts of uppity film critics who will discount the basic plot and obvious laughs (which is the whole point).

A James Bond-type opening credit sequence sets the tone as we abruptly shift to watching Jeff and Karen Gaffney (Zach Galifianakias, Isla Fisher) sending off their two sons to summer camp before returning home to their idealistic cul-de-sac suburban home. Things pick up when the new neighbors, Tim and Natalie Jones, arrive … a seemingly perfect couple played by Jon Hamm and Gal Gadot. They are the type of couple who are beautiful to look at, stylishly dressed, and even show up with a blown-glass sculpture as a gift for their new neighbors.

Of course, this perfect couple is really married spies seeking information from the military weapons contractor where Jeff works as a Human Resources associate. It's Karen who senses something is off about the perfect couple, which leads to her stalking Natalie all the way to a dressing room where she is comically intimidated by Wonder Woman in black lingerie. On a side note, Ms. Fisher does have a later sequence where she proves to be anything but a homely housewife, despite how that dressing room scene is presented.

The men head off for some male bonding – at a highly unusual specialty restaurant, leading to one of the more manic sequences in the movie. The four leads are all excellent, but it's Gal Gadot who is the real surprise … and her scenes with Ms. Fisher are the film's best. Both are allowed to shine, while the men are a bit more one dimensional. Galifianakias is the all-trusting good guy just happy to have some excitement in his life, while Hamm is the super cool spy (who wishes he wasn't). Both men seem to enjoy the chance to make friends, while the women are a bit more focused on tasks at hand.

Director Mottola is known for his films Adventureland and Superbad, and writer LeSieur is best known for Me, You and Dupree. The impressive thing about this latest is that the comedy mostly derives from character and situational interactions, and the expected steady stream of punchlines never materializes. There is even some insight into marriages that have become a bit too predictable, and the challenges of making new friends when all available energy is devoted to parenting and making ends meet.

In addition to the four leads, there are some funny moments for Maribeth Monroe, Matt Walsh and Kevin Dunn. The brilliant Patton Oswalt is cast as the self-nicknamed villain, and is responsible for one of the film's biggest laughs.

Of course, this is not subtle or high-brow humor, and the story line is predictable throughout. The laughs stem from the contrast of a subdued, comfy suburban life versus the sophisticated, over-accomplished jet-setting couple … laughs clearly enhanced by the talented leads. So while this seems like the kind of movie I would usually ignore, perhaps it arrives at a time when laughing is simply preferable to the daily grind of an embarrassing and humiliating Presidential race. So go ahead and give laughter a chance … it works even better than a stress ball.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

A little generic & predictable but a movie that will keep you laughing and extremely entertained the entire time.

8/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
12 January 2017

"Ten years, thirty countries no one finds us out and we can't even last a week in suburbia." Jeff (Galifianakis) and Karen (Fisher) Gaffney are a normal suburban couple with an average non-exciting life. When a new couple moves into the neighborhood they become friends with them, but the new couple has a secret. Now Jeff and Karen are put in the middle of a deadly high stakes deal with no idea what they are doing. First thing I have to say about this is that the movie is really funny and entertaining. There really isn't anything all that new and the movie is a little cookie cutter, but the acting and jokes make it seem fresh and exciting. The chemistry between all four of the actors is almost perfect and really helps the movie a ton. This movie won't win any awards or become a classic, but it is hilarious and I laughed throughout the entire thing. That is what a good comedy should do. I would compare this to Central Intelligence. You pretty much know what's going to happen the entire time, but you can't stop watching and laughing. Overall, a little generic and predictable but a movie that will keep you laughing and extremely entertained the entire time. This is a great watch. I give this a B+.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Funny and far out plot and it's a sexy tease.

8/10
Author: Danny Blankenship from Petersburg, Virginia
26 October 2016

"Keeping Up with the Joneses" is one fun and funny feel comedy drama that seems a little unreal still it entertains! Set in Atlanta, Georgia in an area that's nice a suburban couple Jeff(Zach Galifianakis)and Karen(Isla Fisher)seem to have the perfect life then all of a sudden their life is turned upside down by a new couple who move in next door named Tim Jones(Jon Hamm)and Natalie(Gal Gadot). Soon strange things start to happen and it's seems odd, but soon it appears that an international spy plot might be going on! Aside from that this film is funny and full of good one liners and sexy scenes especially the one of Gal Gadot in the try on room with all of those sexy colored bras, and Tim and Natalie even tie up and duct tape the mouth's of Karen and Jeff's neighbors. Really a wild and crazy type of a film, probably not everyone's cup of tea still it's worth a watch due to it's laughs and sexy scenes a tease with two beautiful ladies in Gal Gadot and Isla Fisher, so if your looking for a carefree feel good time then give this movie a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

The first rule of being a spy is not to fall in love with your partner....

5/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
18 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Gaffneys' lives are interrupted by the arrival of new neighbours, whose stunning looks are matched only by the sophistication of their lives.

Tim Jones is an accomplished travel writer, and his wife, Natalie, is a social media consultant, cooking blogger and heroine to Sri Lankan orphans.

The Gaffneys soon find themselves in the centre of international espionage that gives them a glimpse of life outside their comfort zone.........

Keeping Up With The Joneses is one of those comedies that offers absolutely nothing new to the genre of comedy, and basically borrows from films that are a lot better than this, and funnily enough, a lot worse.

If this was made in the eighties, it would have starred Steve Martin and Shelly Long as the atypical suburban couple, and probably Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner as the titular couple, and it would have been an absolute smash, because it would have felt relatively fresh.

Jump forward thirty years, and with films like Mr & Mrs. Smith, Killers, Housesitter, and a never ending plethora of fish out of water comedies, it feels stale, well worn, and relies on the star power of the cast.

The thing is, Galfiniakas is way out of his comfort zone playing the Everyman, and Gal Gadot is incredibly wooden in her role. So much in fact, it's setting the alarm bells ringing for Wonder Woman.

So the couple get into scrapes, find a little excitement in their mundane lives, and just like True Lies, assist in the final 'hilarious' act when special guest star Patton Oswald makes his appearance as the end of game bad guy.

But it isn't a terrible film, there are a couple of amusing moments, and Fisher plays the jittery housewife with panache, but you can't see those two as a couple.

If you want a comedy that is safe, and offers nothing new, then you may get a few giggles out of it.

Otherwise, if you never see this movie, trust me, you've already seen it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I'm entertained

10/10
Author: doktersaya
30 July 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I already watch Zach Galifianakis's films before like Hangover, Due Date and I laughed out loud. Compared to those films, Keeping Up with the Joneses doesn't make me that laughed out loud like the other films did. But I really like the act from Zach Galifianakis. He has a comedy sense that get me. Also Gal Gadot plays made me cant take off my eyes of her. She is just amazing and good at being spy and good at shooting. The plot is very good, the comedy is not very hard funny but still entertaining to watch at your home. summary I'm entertained of this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Average Affair with Some Big Laughs,

7/10
Author: Dillon Harris from Ireland
14 January 2017

Keeping Up with the Joneses is a good movie with a reasonably well developed plot and a fantastic comedic cast. The highlight of the film is certainly the connection and chemistry between the four main cast members, all of the individual relationships between Zach Galifanakis, Isla Fisher, Jon Hamm and Gal Gadot is what makes this movie watchable. They all have great comedic timing with one another, it was clear they had trust in each other.

I did feel the plot did not go as far as a viewer would expect a film about spies to go. The final act is very underwhelming, as we are expecting this big blow out, but it actually ends up being very straight forward and predictable, nothing shocking or truly exciting really occurs.

As well as that, it simply is not as funny as it should have been. I had higher hopes with a cast like this, I was expecting a laugh a minute sort of movie, but there are several scenes without a single good joke in there. The writing came across as somewhat lazy, as if they gave up halfway through.

It does show that a film that is verging on mediocrity can be saved simply by the sincere chemistry between its lead cast. While it is certainly flawed, Keeping up with the Joneses is still mindless fun, worth the watch if you are looking for a good comedy, but do not go out of your way to see it.

A suburban couple discover their new neighbours are undercover spies.

Best Performance: Jon Hamm

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Has Some Fun Moments. What Else Did You Expect?

6/10
Author: nama chakravorty from India
4 May 2017

'Keeping Up with the Joneses' is a fair Spy-Comedy, that has some fun moments. Its got some laughs, despite all the silliness around. What else did you expect anyway?

'Keeping Up with the Joneses' Synopsis: A suburban couple becomes embroiled in an international espionage plot when they discover that their seemingly perfect new neighbors are government spies.

Zach Galifianakis, Jon Hamm, Isla Fisher and Gal Gadot are the true strengths of 'Keeping Up with the Joneses'. Zach is happily stupid & raises some good laughs, Fisher is fabulous, Hamm is anything but a ham & Gadot is the hottest thing you'll see on the big screen in a long time. The 4 talented actors sportingly deliver in this predictable comedy, showing us their potential yet again.

Michael LeSieur's Screenplay is fair, with some hilarity in store, while Greg Mottola's Direction is satisfactory, at best.

On the whole, 'Keeping Up with the Joneses' is a great way to kill a dull afternoon.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history