IMDb > "Jessica Jones" (2015) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Jessica Jones"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Jessica Jones" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 30:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 292 reviews in total 

124 out of 174 people found the following review useful:

Consistent dark tone, inconsistent writing

6/10
Author: aesylvia
22 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you were expecting something as good as Daredevil, don't. Is it close? Maybe for some but my experience was rather disappointing given my high expectations based on the previous series that blew me away.

I had read the comics this was based on and was pleased with how much they deviated so as to keep the story fresh and unpredictable. What I did not care for was the number of characters that were introduced, which was unexpected due to how antisocial the protagonist is. This cluttered up the story with uninteresting or utterly obnoxious nobodies whose subplots wasted time that could have been better spent resolving the major Jessica-related ones, ultimately resulting in an unsatisfying conclusion (not only due to the anticlimax of the final confrontation).

David Tennant shines as Kilgrave, he is most certainly the high point of the story. They gave his character much more depth and a richer history than in the comics (no purple skin, sorry fans.) Far more sadistic than in the comics even, he easily outstrips Wilson Fisk for 'most evil villain' so far in any part of the MCU. Unfortunately this made many of his co-stars on screen with him at the same time look like amateurs, but they tried their best in their other scenes.

Jones' abrasive personality made it difficult for her to have any real chemistry with anyone but it was painfully true with Luke Cage, and one character even had to remark on their chemistry as if those of us who didn't 'get it' were supposed to just buy it. His character was also overused, it made this series feel less like Jessica's own, and also puts into question how independent Cage will be when his own series starts.

A few inconsistencies also marred the enjoyment factor of the series. Jones' powers are never satisfactorily explained (and the opportunity to at least reveal their origin was wasted with too many minor characters and subplots) and Cage's powers are also used inconsistently (explain to me how an explosion fails to deafen and/or blind him, at least temporarily, and yet a shotgun blast under his chin puts him in a coma.) Also in this world of aliens and superheroes, peoples' inability to accept that there exists a mind controller is inexcusable, especially with other series like Agents of SHIELD establishing that numerous 'gifted' individuals exist and are being hunted down. Even those who are directly affected by Kilgrave seem to want not to believe it. It gets aggravating even before the halfway point. Not to mention lots of other miscellaneous stupidity from most of the characters.

Ultimately it's a story about trying to find one's identity that never pans out, tons of moral conundrums that go unresolved, and about the cleverest thing you see is that with all her great strength that others like Daredevil don't have, she can't just go throwing it around with abandon because of the nature of her nemesis who hides behind innocent pawns.

Don't make the mistake of raising your expectations for this because of Daredevil like I did. It feels like this could have benefited from a shorter production run, maybe 8 episodes instead. Curious to see how they'll bring her back in the future, though I'm skeptical if they'd actually give this a second season or any other solo treatment.

Was the above review useful to you?

270 out of 476 people found the following review useful:

Arguably the best superhero show to date

10/10
Author: ClaraBosswald
20 November 2015

If you're considering watching this show, chances are you've already watched Marvel's Daredevil and know what to expect: a darker, grittier tone than the rest of the Marvel universe, great production values and strong characterization. It delivers all those things and more.

Jessica Jones tells the story of a retired superhero, a woman who tried to help and failed. Jessica is a broken character; she suffers from PTSD, has nightmares and constant flashbacks and drinks a lot. She's an incredibly compelling protagonist; flawed but strong, broken but fighting, sad but with a sarcastic edge that makes her funny and easy to love.

The show isn't afraid to explore dark themes of sexual assault, rape and abortion and it does so with taste. The victims are not shown being raped; the viewer is just expected to believe them without titillating rape scenes to prove the facts.

As a survivor herself, Jessica shows both the signs of her trauma and the will to fight back. Women in Jessica Jones suffer, they fail, but they fight.

Unlike Daredevil's Kingpin, Killgrave is a threat from the first episode which results is better pacing (Daredevil took 4 episodes to find its feet in my opinion). Because of Jessica's PTSD, you constantly feel his shadow and the tension is constant. The show doesn't waste time with an origin story or training sequences; it takes you straight into the action and doesn't let you go.

A definite success for Marvel.

Was the above review useful to you?

116 out of 175 people found the following review useful:

Huge promise + missed opportunities = average outing

5/10
Author: Sam Samson from United States
21 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Good not great. It's hard to measure up the ridiculously high bar set by Marvel's Daredevil and this show does bring something new and different to the table in the superhero genre. There were also strong performances from Krysten Ritter, Mike Colter, David Tennant, and Rachael Taylor.

At the end of it, however, I found myself disappointed. The show suffered from an unevenly paced storyline without any arc and struggled with an identity crisis. I was excited for the prospect of a film noir superhero detective story idea with many more smaller cases providing clues/insight into Jessica the character, her past, and the broader Marvel Cinematic Universe (which is what fans and audiences want – character development!!). I was also excited at the prospect of a psychological thriller superhero story. But the result was a tepid middle ground between the two.

There was also not much insight into Jessica's past (I get they want to draw out the origin of her powers into future story lines) but I think it was a missed opportunity to not explore her time under Kilgrave's control more to build a deeper connection for both characters. I thought there would be a slow burn with Jessica trying to overcome her past trauma and leading up to a final overcoming/confrontation of this but the character development was too whipsawed throughout the entire show.

The staggered pace was also stuffed with way too many ancillary, undeveloped characters (Malcolm, Hope, Robyn, Reuben, Pam, Hogarth's ex, and the worst offender of all Simpson!) that were too much of a distraction for me - either because they were poorly acted or I could care less about the character in relation to the overall story.

And what a waste of Carrie Anne Moss and her character, who apparently was only there as a plot device. Whether Hogarth was in the show or not apparently made no discernible difference to the story or outcome. Was Hogarth a friend or foe, was she a growing threat and connected to a larger scheme or was she an ultimate ally there to help Jessica and connect to Iron Fist, or was she really just THAT concerned about her freakin' divorce. I struggle to answer these questions and it was obvious the writers struggled with the same dilemma and decided to toss the character aside 2/3 of the way through with no resolution. It even would have been worth the entire character and side plot had Pam been ultimately represented by Nelson & Murdock! (alas missed opportunities)

Even the introduction of the villain felt forced and fell short. The ads made it seem like there would be Joker-esque mastermind lurking just beyond the corner at all times pulling all the strings. But instead we got a manboy stalker who was too busy watching soccer games and buying all of Jessica's old toys on eBay . I really expected Kilgrave to offer a larger, ominous, scene stealing presence driving the intrigue of the show.

All in all, after watching all the episodes, I kept focusing on the show's missed opportunities more so than being excited for its future prospects and what's to come.

Was the above review useful to you?

177 out of 301 people found the following review useful:

Netflix and Marvel's partnership is the ballad of the villains

10/10
Author: Sean Bucklar from Brisbane, Australia
20 November 2015

Much like Daredevil, the real saga of Jessica Jones is that of the Villain. David Tennant shines as a dark and broken sociopath. His performance is chilling and terrifying and asks dark questions about what we would do with ultimate power over those around us, and about what would become of us.

Stepping past Tennant's breathtaking performance, the rest of the casting is apt and on point. Any fan of the comic books will be hard pressed to fault Jessica Jones or Luke Cage. Their chemistry and dynamic is ink made flesh and the characters that we loved brought to screen. The supporting cast are equally brilliant, especially the trio of Australian actors supporting in the roles of Trish Walker, Will Simpson and Malcolm. Comic book buffs will quickly spot the nods to comic cannon and the fascinating divergence and rebirth of comic book icons. There is extensive dialogue and set references to comic book icons that shows a phenomenal attention to detail that becomes a love letter to long term fans of these properties.

Jessica Jones breathes yet more life into the promise of the Defenders franchise at Netflix. Bring on Luke Cage, Iron Fist, and future seasons. If for some reason you haven't yet signed up for Netflix - this show alone is a reason to do so.

Was the above review useful to you?

155 out of 263 people found the following review useful:

I tried to like it, I really did

2/10
Author: acgmph from Netherlands
20 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I started watching Jessica Jones feeling hopeful. After all, I am a big fan of Netflix and their original series, I know they have great original content, so I was expecting Jessica Jones to be a hit too. But boy, was I wrong. I watched the 1st episode, then the second, third, fell asleep somewhere on the 4th, woke up and just skipped to the last one to see how this boring show will end. It was an uneventful and pretty lame ending too, in line with everything else.

The acting was spotty, the plot would have easily fit one movie (13 episodes was too much for this script), fight scenes and CGI were sub-par (like a low budget TV series), and overall a really awful show.

I also had a feeling that everything in the show was forced and not natural. Too many sex scenes (and I'm not a puritan in any way-actually the opposite of). One in the beginning I think would have made the point just as clear. I guess they needed fillers.

The dialogue was flat and monotone. The damn thing made me fall asleep!

Overall I did not enjoy this. Would not recommend it, unless you're a super-die-hard fan of Marvel or the genre - you might like it then, but if you're a regular person, you won't enjoy this. On top of that, I am actually skeptical of what next year's going to bring for Netflix via Marvel and their collaboration with Disney. It they keep this up, I might have to reconsider my subscription because this is not working for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

110 out of 179 people found the following review useful:

A sadly missed opportunity

5/10
Author: kylebfranks
21 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As I look at these reviews, I see a lot of people that have watched one or two episodes and anointed this show as innovative and the best of its kind. I was a HUGE fan of Daredevil and I could not wait for the other installments of the Defenders series. To this end, I watched every episode of this show before deciding to review it. I never review shows because I am not a fan boy nor am I self-important enough to think my opinion holds that much weight. I love Krysten Ritter from Don't Trust the B and I appreciate Carrie Anne-Moss's effort, the actor who played Luke Cage as well as David Tennant's work with what he was given. I will say however that this show was extremely disappointing and it does not deserve its initial praise. To praise it is to beg for more like it and I can do no such thing.

The first two episodes were promising and led me to believe another Daredevil/Dark Knight caliber show was in store. I was wrong. It was not until after the fact that I noticed this show was "created" by the woman who penned the Twilight films and also wrote two episodes of this show. This should have been a dead giveaway I should've cut and ran.

The story has no arc. There is only a thirteen episode cat and mouse runaround derailed by incessant Hamlet-esque thinking aloud before every move, torture scenes, unnecessary characters that I never wanted to get invested in, bad fight choreography and no masterfully interwoven plot. Unlike Luke Cage, the only thing that gives Jones special abilities on screen are shots of her throwing people followed by shots of people landing far away, knocking over walls, etc. Killgore's abilities and malice are vastly underutilized. It falls not on Tennant's acting, but EVERY SINGLE SMALL PART CASTED for you to believe in his "mind control" and these actors did not deliver. The writing is also to blame.

Spoilers

If anyone can remember back to Daredevil, think of when Wilson Fisk's name is spoken and the hit-man impales himself to avoid Kingpin's wrath. The thought of someone so sinister, so evil that you would kill yourself before facing the consequences of defying him, it gave me chills. Killgore actually has the ability to make you kill yourself and others, to commit murder in his name and the follow-through of this show made him little more than an annoyance by the end...a grown toddler whining, not letting people blink and throwing temper-tantrums.

You could say that Killgore stays under the radar so as not to confirm Jones' pleas that Hope did not kill her parents, that it was mind control. Based on that creative choice, we're left with a subdued evil mastermind, a hero that refuses to kill the villain thus allowing him to escape only to be hunted OVER AND OVER AGAIN as well as a girl that we don't even care about except for the fact that she killed her parents for shock value in the first episode, handcuffing the ENTIRE SEASON. The finale, the payoff, the 'reckoning' of audience desire for retribution that I wasted 7-8 hours/episodes more than the story's actual premise should've required, plays as little more than a reminder of something you've seen before but done better.

In summary, the creatives were given a rich complicated lead character dealing with problems of PTSD, alcoholism, past sexual abuse and being orphaned all while maintaining feminist ideology and an ability to change her community with SUPER POWERS. They were given a villain with the ability to wreak immeasurable havoc through a cocktail of MIND-CONTROL and PSYCHOPATHY. They were given a dark, corrupt city already outlined in Daredevil. They were given Doctor Who for God sake's, Trinity, Jane from Breaking Bad as well as Lester Freamon from The Wire (Clarke Peters, far too talented an actor for his character's pedestrian involvement). This should have been a home run. Instead, they gave me Twilight and chase scenes set to jazz.

Was the above review useful to you?

165 out of 290 people found the following review useful:

AKA a brilliant show with a truly menacing and memorable villain.

10/10
Author: Guy2026 from Canada
20 November 2015

If for nothing else, watch Jessica Jones for David Tennant's performance as Kilgrave. He is better than any other Marvel movie or TV villain ever seen before. He is truly terrifying but oddly hypnotizing. He can make you do whatever he tells you to. Not only does David Tennant's charisma make this believable, but the writers use it in a lot of cool ways. As a villain, he's right up there with Heath Ledger's Joker.

Krysten Ritter (Jesse's girlfriend from season 2 of Breaking Bad) plays the lead. It's great to see a Female Marvel lead, and she delivers a wonderfully understated performance. The show starts off as a gritty detective show with dry humour and not much of Tennant. However, as the show goes along, it evolves into something much cooler. It gets darker but also funnier, and Tennant's involvement becomes larger.

In conclusion, Jessica Jones is a very binge-able show with a memorable villain and a great lead that doesn't need much prior knowledge despite tying into the Marvel universe. In my opinion, it's even better than Daredevil.

Was the above review useful to you?

100 out of 162 people found the following review useful:

This could have been way better, but nope.

3/10
Author: jerrythegreat from United States
22 November 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you like slow, boring, averagely written wanna be super-hero shows you hit the jackpot with this one. Even the sex scenes are boring, which may seem hard to do, but this show found a way. The lead character gives you nothing to care about. When she hurts, so what, when she's sad, who cares, you get the idea. It's doubly sad because they have such great material to work with. Jessica's story is perfect for a Netflix show. It isn't too flushed out, so good writers can mold it any way they wish too, but these writers seem to be okay with sub-par plots and story lines. Her relationship with Luke Cage is a nice touch, but their chemistry is less plastic explosive and more baking soda volcano.

To sum up, this show had great potential to be an awesome edition to the marvel universe, but I don't see it lasting more than a season, maybe 2 because of it having a female lead. If they fire the show runner and hire better writers than who knows, for now pass on this unless you feel like sleeping.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

More Hollywood crap catering to the young and tasteless

1/10
Author: kieran_black from Melbourne, Australia
29 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really wanted to give this show a shot, but the main character is just not very believable and I don't know who this show is supposed to appeal to. It's like they are trying to glorify dangerous sexual behavior and rape culture but brand it as feminism. She's supposed to be a detective, but you hardly see any impressive detective work, but rather, things just fall into her lap with little to no effort on her part.

Her "powers" are way too unspecific and resemble more of an "Twilighty" power set, rather than something curious and compelling. It's like they just wanted to invent a super hero but couldn't be bothered making her original or building a proper character history. She is essentially supernatural for the sake of being supernatural, an anti-hero for the sake of being an anti- hero.

I am utterly convinced the producers of this show paid a service to up the votes on this show, in an effort to convince stupid people that is a good show. Unfortunately, it just may have worked.

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 82 people found the following review useful:

All Around Amazing

10/10
Author: erinkay641 from United States
17 January 2016

I am truly baffled by the negative reviews. This show is incredible. Every character is truly fascinating and we get glimpses of their back stories to supplement the story, but I guess people are disappointed that not everything was revealed immediately? I am almost positive that the mystery of Jessica Jones' background is intentional and they will reveal more as the show develops. As for people that complain that the show is boring....these must be the people keeping things like the Transformers series in business. If you're looking for constant explosions and action, you'll be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a show with well developed characters, a chilling villain, a compelling and relatable main character, an intriguing storyline, and just utterly spectacular acting, this is the show for you. No, it's not a typical superhero show. It goes above and beyond in so many aspects. This has raised the bar for superhero stories, in my opinion. Krysten Ritter is superb and very believable as Jessica Jones. I love love love this show! Give it a chance, you will not be sorry you did! I can't wait for Season 2.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 30:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history